Uncategorized

a tour of my DMCA violation

via: ekai

I returned from SXSW to see a YouTube DMCA removal of my QueerHousewives of NYC remixes due to copyright violation from NBC/Universal. It seem like this tweet did the trick (tweeted during this panel w/ NBC executive, Cameron Death) but regardless, it’s a Fair Use of copyright content. Luckily, a lawyer from YouTube was on my Open Video Panel at SXSW so I was familiar with the updated and simplified dispute process. Also, I’m damn smart enough not to post or distribute remixes that aren’t a Fair Use b/c I contribute to the very discourse. It’s just all very ironic and a big pain in the ass.

It was such a dude-fest on the VBVI (very busy, very important) phallic fest panel of #hollywoodgreenlight. I was disgusted by the power struggle btw corporate gate keepers and content creators. Mr. Death mentioned that no pitch is Ok’d by NBC/Uni w/out complete commercial sponsorship. I wanted to illustrate that audiences now have more power in this cycle and can edit out the branding and corporate sponsorship to make a new point that was more poignant than the original commercial repackaged as a reality tv show.

Here are the REMOVED remixes.

Standard

One thought on “a tour of my DMCA violation

  1. Pingback: A Good Friday can always be better. «

Comments are closed.