blog

Remixing Masculinity 2010 + Remixing from the DVR.

Duane de Four, a fellow writer, activist and educator, made his first remix based on masculinity-defining ads of 2010. It’s tough being depicted as hyper-sexualized, consumer-driven women in  but wow, it’s also rough for guys who feel societal pressures to be an overly muscular, strong, savior to women. I’m not sure if this is what men think women want, or if it’s their projected societal role as a man. Either way, it’s chicken or the egg and discussions ensue. The remix points out some of these insecurities men deal with, and as a result, marketers exploit, (or vice versa) for purposes of discussion around male identity and, if I know Duane well enough, concepts of privilege.

I asked Duane a few questions about his first time remixing:

Did you find the remix process pretty easy and accessible?

DDF: For the most part yes. I was able to find most of the commercials I used either on YouTube or on the company websites. Converting them for use in iMovie was easy as well and after that it was just a matter of playing around with iMovie until I felt comfortable and started to figure things out. I had an idea of what I wanted to do so I just kept experimenting.

What were your biggest hang ups?
DDF : Overcoming my desire to produce the best video EVER on my first try. I had to accept that I’m a rookie and this is a learning process, My fear of making mistakes led me to take far too long getting the video done. I kept re-watching it and tweaking it over and over and over! I finally forced myself to just export it and upload it without thinking about it anymore.

Do you mind if I ask you how long it took?
DDF: Probably only a couple of days total. I’d work on it on my free time, an hour here, and hour there… it was going back over and over again that added up and made it take months to complete. But now that I got my first video out there, I feel more confident and next time I’ll be done faster.
When you needed help, technical or otherwise, where did you go?
DFF: I showed it to friends and family  to get feedback as I went along. I took your class at CCTV, which helped me get started with finding clips and answers to copyright concerns. Beyond that it was just experimenting with iMovie and Googling any questions I had that I couldn’t solve on my own. I also took another class at CCTV (Cambridge Community Television) on Final Cut, but that was after I was mostly done with the video. It was more of a confidence booster since I don’t actually have Final Cut. I did get to learn a few techniques however that I applied to the video, even though I use a different program.
I talk more about the important role Public Access Centers play in video remixing and media literacy in this Transformative Works & Culture article (at the 2.17 point).
-Thanks Duane!

This week I experimented with my new (and by ‘new’ I mean previously owned and about 4 years old) DVR. I streamlined the workflow for quick and dirty remixing purposes and included corresponding numbered screenshots below.

  1. Open the DVD’s icon on the desktop and you’ll find a VIDEO_TS folder with lots of other files in there. Now it just needs to be converted into one file.
  2. Launch Handbrake and select the VIDEO_TS folder. You’ll be converting everything in it into an mpeg4.
  3. I found these settings (see #3) to be the most efficient in terms of retaining picture quality while keeping file size low. Press start. The process of converting is going to take awhile (especially since we selected 2-pass encoding) but you can keep it running while you browse or word process.
  4. The result is one mpeg4 file that now has to be converted to a .mov in order to be compatible with Final Cut Pro to be edited. The good news is that this part is pretty easy and follows the same workflow mentioned in the previous post using Mpeg Streamclip.
  5. After completing the .mov conversion, open Final Cut Pro (or iMovie) and you should find your brand new .mov file opens and plays on the time line with out rendering.

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

Standard

One thought on “Remixing Masculinity 2010 + Remixing from the DVR.

  1. Pingback: Remixing w/ the Canon Vixia. « Pop Culture Pirate.

Leave a Reply

