blog

Finally, a doll that understands me…us.

I just found a remix from Video Pancakes of the worlds first interactive doll. In short, I love this.

The original ad aired in 1987 and the doll was made by Worlds of Wonder, the same company that made Teddy Ruxpin. I  had a Teddy Ruxpin. It was clearly a gender-appropriate boy’s doll. One night, at about 2 am, Teddy’s batteries needed to be replaced and he started talking slowly, deeply, from the depths of my 5 year-old under-the-bed-storage compartment dedicated to stuffed animals which was very popular among the “young and organized” set.  The terror of waking up to a doll talking from under my bed remains to this day.

Julie seems to negotiate female anger really well…kinda like my plastic friends over at the Barbie Liberation Organization. Finally, a doll that understands us!

Standard

5 thoughts on “Finally, a doll that understands me…us.

  1. Pingback: source material, context & remix |

Leave a Reply

