viral

Romney Remixed

My remix friend Diran Lyons created this remix in September, 2012.

Then yesterday, I’m listening to a co-worker live-stream the Obama rally in Ohio and I hear Jay-Z anounce,

“I changed this one up, I have to do it, I’m sorry. I got 99 problems but Mitt ain’t one. I didn’t get clearance from the Secret Service so if they come tackle me y’all save me. I didn’t get that vetted, so let’s do that real fast before they come snatch me off this stage.”

Life imitates art. And I kinda liked art better.

Finally, if you’ve got 99 problems but Mitt isn’t one, than who is he?

Standard

5 thoughts on “Romney Remixed

      • DL says:

        It was interesting. Good call by describing it as ‘life imitating art,’ although I myself was imitating his creative work and responding to it. What Jay Z did on stage immediately brought some questions to mind. The hook is fun and catchy, so it probably would have helped Obama to do this earlier, since he was making public appearances with Jay Z during the campaign and doing interviews about his friendship with the rapper as recently as mid last month. Then I started pondering the performance aesthetically, and wished that Jay Z had taken the time to edit out the original ‘B word’ in the lyrics so that he wasn’t trying to shout ‘Mitt’ over it. Mostly I wanted to see Jay Z rap new lyrics that would politicize the song for the campaign, and he didn’t unfortunately. So, it sort of felt duct taped together on some levels.

      • Yeah, I coud see that. And I felt it, too. I think it was improved on the spot from what he said – and how it looked. File this one under “Better to apologize than to ask for permission.”

Leave a Reply

